Thursday, March 13, 2014

Applications Invited for United Nations Journalism Fellowship

Received via The Press Association of Jamaica

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is now accepting applications from professional journalists from developing countries for its 2014 fellowship program. The application deadline is March 31, 2014.

The fellowships are available to radio, television, print and web journalists, age 25 to 35, from developing countries who are interested in coming to New York to report on international affairs during the 69th session of the United Nations General Assembly. The fellowships will begin
in early September and extend to late November and will include the cost of travel and accommodations in New York, as well as a per diem allowance.

The fellowship program is open to journalists who are native to one of the developing countries in Africa, Asia, South America and the Caribbean, and are currently working full-time for a bona fide media organization in a developing nation. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in and commitment to international affairs and to conveying a better understanding of the United Nations to their readers and audiences. They must also have approval from their media organizations to spend up to two months in New York to report from the United Nations.

In an effort to rotate recipient countries, the Fund will not consider journalist applications for 2014 from nations selected in 2013: Brazil, Kenya, Pakistan and Turkey. Journalists from these countries may apply in 2015.

Four journalists are selected each year after a review of all applications. The journalists who are awarded fellowships are given the incomparable opportunity to observe international diplomatic deliberations at the United Nations, to make professional contacts that will serve them for years to
come, to interact with seasoned journalists from around the world, and to gain a broader perspective and understanding of matters of global concern. Many past fellows have risen to prominence in their professional and countries. The program is not intended to provide basic skills training to
journalists, as all participants are media professionals.

Click here to review fellowship eligibility criteria and documentation requirements as well as the fellowship application form. Please note that we cannot accept email applications.

Questions about the program, eligibility and application process can be directed by email to
≈ ≈ ≈ ≈
The Fund held its annual luncheon on October 18, 2013 at which Dr. Madeleine
K. Albright received the Dag Hammarskjold Inspiration Awards The 2013
fellowship recipients also spoke at the luncheon.

Please reply to -

President: Clive Bacchus

First Vice President - Peter Richards

Second Vice President - Dr Canute James

General Secretary - Wesley Gibbings

Asst General Secretary - Martina Johnson

Floor Member - Jabari Fraser

Floor Member - Onel Belle

"A Free Press, Oxygen of Democracy"

No comments:

Post a Comment