Wednesday, October 2, 2013

IAAF announces names of candidates for 2013 World Athlete of the Year Award

Usain Bolt -
01 OCT 2013 Press Release Monaco: The IAAF is pleased to announce the names of the 10 men and 10 women who have been shortlisted for the 2013 World Athlete of the Year Award. The candidates have been selected by an IAAF panel of athletics experts*.
An email poll involving the World Athletics Family** begins today, Tuesday 1 October, and will close on Sunday 27 October, midnight CET. At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF.
Mo Farah -
The Council of the International Athletics Foundation will then select the male and female winners, with the announcement taking place live on stage during the 2013 World Athletics Gala on Saturday 16 November 2013.
The candidates for the World Athlete of the Year Award are (athletes listed in alphabetical order):
Mohammed Aman (ETH)
Usain Bolt (JAM)
Bohdan Bondarenko (UKR)
Ashton Eaton (USA)
Mohamed Farah (GBR)
Robert Harting (GER)
Wilson Kipsang (KEN)
Aleksandr Menkov (RUS)
LaShawn Merritt (USA)
Teddy Tamgho (FRA)

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce
Tirunesh Dibaba
Valerie Adams (NZL)
Abeba Aregawi (SWE)
Meseret Defar (ETH)
Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH)
Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)
Zuzana Hejnova (CZE)
Caterine Ibargüen (COL)
Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
Brianna Rollins (USA)
Svetlana Shkolina (RUS)
*The international panel of athletics experts includes representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.
**World Athletics Family: IAAF & IAF Council Members; IAAF national Member Federations; IAAF Committee & Commission Members; IAAF Meeting Directors; IAAF Athlete Ambassadors; Athletes’ Representatives; Top Athletes; Members of the International Press; IAAF Staff Members & the IAAF’s Official Partners.


No comments:

Post a Comment